Readers > Book Groups > Creating a Book Group > Supporting the Group
Supporting the Group
Multnomah County Library's collection includes many books, periodicals and websites for those interested in starting a book group or looking for good books to discuss.
Using books
How-to books are valuable resources, packed with advice on how to start a reading group, suggestions for choosing books, and tips for having a good discussion.
A few titles are:
-
Book Lust: Recommended Reading for Every Mood, Moment, and Reason by Nancy Pearl. -
(call number 011.73 P359b 2003Tip: see all of her books!
-
Good Books Lately: The One-Stop Resource for Book Groups and Other Greedy Readers by Ellen Moore and Kira Stevens. -
(call number 374.22 M821g 2004)
-
Great Books for Every Book Lover: 2002 Great Reading Suggestions for the Discriminating Bibliophile by Thomas J Craughwell. -
(call number 028.1 C897g 1998)
-
The Reading Group Handbook: Everything You Need to Know to Start Your Own Book Club by Rachel W. Jacobsohn -
(call number 374.22 J17r 1998)
To find books like these in the Library catalog, do a "Subject Headings" or "Keyword" using these terms:
Reading periodicals
The Periodicals Room on Central Library's second floor displays many magazines and journals that contain information about books, reading and authors.
Reading magazines can help you select books to share with your book group or provide background for an upcoming discussion.
Some of our favorites are:
- Book Marks
- BookForum
- Los Angeles Times Book Review
- Mystery News
- New York Review of Books
- Pages
- Publishers Weekly
- QBR: The Black Book Review
- Readerville Journal
- Speakeasy
- TLS (Times Literary Supplement)
- Women's Review of Books
- World Literature Today
You can also search the Library Catalog for other book-related magazines. Use the following terms when doing a "Subject Headings" search:
Exploring websites
Readers is the place to begin your exploration of popular titles and current reading trends. Created by Multnomah County Library staff, Readers offers reading lists for book groups, announcements of regional author events and links to websites designed for book lovers.
To find out what the library's book groups are reading, select the Pageturners heading. Guides to starting and running a successful book group are listed under Resources for book groups.
Popular Library staff maintains the Booklists feature, which includes read-alikes for favorite authors, lists of titles by topic, and selected popular nonfiction. It also contains links to booklists for children.
The Research section of the library's website has a collection called Books/Literature . This page contains links to subscription databases and selected websites for book lovers. Browse NoveList to find theme-oriented book lists at every reading level, award-winning fiction and book discussion guides.
