Research > Guides > Conflict & Terrorism > War on terrorism
War on terrorism
- Senate Intelligence Committee report on Iraq's WMD and links to terrorism
-
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/5329350.stm9/11/06, BBC: The Senate Intelligence Committee found no evidence of links between the regime of Saddam Hussein and al-Qaeda. And "post-war findings do not support the 2002 National Intelligence Estimate judgment that Iraq was reconstituting its nuclear weapons program." Full text from the U.S. Senate: “Postwar findings about Iraq's WMD programs and links to terrorism and how they compare with prewar assessments.”
- Transportation Security Administration
-
http://www.tsa.govThe Transportation Security Administration (TSA) protects the nation's transportation systems (including screening passengers at airports). 9/25/06: TSA adjusts liquids ban for airline passengers to allow 3 ounce containers and liquids purchased at the airport.
- 9-11 Commission Report
-
www.9-11commission.gov/The 9-11 Commission final report was released 7/22/04. The National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States, also known as the 9-11 Commission, is an independent, bipartisan commission created by Congress and President Bush in late 2002. It was chartered to prepare a full and complete account of the circumstances surrounding the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, including preparedness for and the immediate response to the attacks. The Commission was also mandated to provide recommendations designed to guard against future attacks. Provides the complete report plus an Executive Summary, transcripts of preliminary staff statements and video of all of the hearings. There is an additional link through GPO Access .
- U.S. Department of State
-
www.state.govIncludes an International Information Program page Response to Terrorism that serves as a focal point for information about the campaign against terrorism, including the list of "Designated Foreign Terrorist Organizations," whose finances are being disrupted. Also the Office of the Coordinator for Counterterrorism that coordinates all U.S. Government efforts to improve counterterrorism cooperation with foreign governments and includes Rewards for Justice which directly offers money for information that will help prevent a terrorist attack or the capture of terrorists.
- U.S. Department of Homeland Security
-
www.dhs.gov/dhspublic/index.jspThe new Cabinet level Department's information about how they work to protect the country, "Your role in Homeland Security," emergencies & disasters, travel & transportation, immigration & borders, research & technology, threats & protection, news, and details of the color coded Homeland Security Advisory levels and alerts.
- READY.gov
-
www.ready.govFrom the Department of Homeland Security - advice on personal planning in the event of terrorist attack by explosions or biological, chemical and nuclear weapons.
- FBI Counterterrorism
-
http://www.fbi.gov/terrorinfo/counterrorism/waronterrorhome.htmFBI information about terrorism, threat levels, and links to submitting tips regarding terrorists,
- Country Reports on Terrorism & Patterns of Global Terrorism
-
www.state.gov/s/ct/rls/crt/The US State Department's annual reports on terrorism. The annual report entitled Country Reports on Terrorism replaced the previously published Patterns of Global Terrorism in 2004. There is an archive of the Patterns of Global Terrorism staring in 1995.
- U.S. Dept. of Treasury Office of Terrorism and Financial Intelligence
-
http://www.treas.gov/offices/enforcement/"The Office of Terrorism and Financial Intelligence (TFI) marshals the department's intelligence and enforcement functions with the twin aims of safeguarding the financial system against illicit use and combating rogue nations, terrorist facilitators, weapons of mass destruction (WMD) proliferators, money launderers, drug kingpins, and other national security threats."
- CIA
-
http://www.cia.gov/The U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) site includes a special section, CIA & The War on Terrorism, with links to testimony before Congress, position papers, public statements and handbooks.
- Defend America
-
www.defendamerica.milU.S. Dept. of Defense news about the war on terrorism, and links to military organizations.
- NATO & Terrorism
-
www.nato.int/terrorism/The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) response to terrorism. Includes NATO forces in Afghanistan, naval patrols of the Mediterranean, intelligence sharing, missile defense and defense against weapons of mass destruction. Key texts & press statements.
- UN Action Against Terrorism
-
www.un.org/terrorism/A gateway to actions being taken by the United Nations Security Council, General Assembly, the Economic & social Council, the Secretary-General and the Policy Working Group on the United Nations and Terrorism. Includes links to latest developments, pertinent parts of the UN Charter, Conventions and Declarations, plus UN Agencies.
- International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
-
www.iaea.orgThe IAEA, an autonomous organization under the United Nations, is the world's foremost intergovernmental forum for scientific and technical co-operation in the peaceful use of nuclear technology. The IAEA is responsible for the inspections of nuclear facilities in Iraq, North Korea and Iran, as well as other countries to verify compliance with the nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty.
- Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW)
-
www.opcw.orgOur mission is to implement the provisions of the Chemical Weapons Convention in order to achieve the OPCW's vision of a world both free of chemical weapons and in which cooperation in chemistry for peaceful purposes for all is fostered. In doing this, our ultimate aim is to contribute to international security and stability, to general and complete disarmament and to global and economic development.
- Whitehouse - Homeland Security
-
www.whitehouse.gov/homelandThe view from the White House on Homeland Security.
- FEMA
-
www.fema.govThe Federal Emergency Management Agency covers any kind of emergency including terrorist attack. It was a lead agency responding to the 9-11 attack and recovery.
- Citizencorps
-
www.citizencorps.govProvides opportunities for people to participate in a range of State and Local measures to make their families, their homes, and their communities safer from the threats of crime, terrorism, and disasters of all kinds.
- Overseas Crisis Awareness and Preparedness
-
http://travel.state.gov/travel/tips/emergencies/emergencies_1187.htmlU.S. State Department information on preparing for a crisis while traveling or working abroad.
- Federation of American Scientists: WMD Resources
-
www.fas.org/nuke/index.htmlThe Federation of American Scientists' guide to Weapons of Mass Destruction around the world, arms control agreements, news, a primer on nuclear, chemical and biological weapons, scientific papers, links to websites regarding nuclear resources & weapons, and a USENET discussion forum for nuclear weapons issues.
- War on Terrorism Resource Guides
-
http://www.ecu.edu/cs-lib/govdoc/waronterror.cfmProduced by documents librarians at Joyner Library, East Carolina University.
- Multnomah County Library. Homework Center. Social Issues. Terrorism
-
www.multcolib.org/homework/sochc2.html#terrorismProduced by Multnomah County Library's School Corps.
- Terrorist Research Center
-
www.terrorism.comExtensive information on international terrorism of all kinds, including profiles of many known terrorist organizations, reports and papers, and links to many other organizations concerned with terrorism.
- General Bioterrorism Information
-
www1.umn.edu/cidrap/content/bt/bioprep/Produced by Center for Infectious Disease Research & Policy (CIDRAP), University of Minnesota.
- Bush names new intelligence chief
-
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/4274337.stm2/17/05, BBC: President Bush nominated John Negroponte as the first US director of national intelligence.
- Congress overhauls Intelligence
-
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/4074467.stm12/8/04, BBC: Congress implements most of the 9/11 Commission proposals to overhaul U.S. Intelligence operations. A Cabinet level national intelligence director will be created who will be put in charge of coordinating the work of the country's 15 spy agencies, as well as their multi-billion dollar budgets.
- Libya declares chemical weapons
-
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/3535177.stm3/5/04, BBC: Libya declared a 20-ton stockpile of deadly mustard gas in a full report on its chemical weapons program submitted to the UN Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW).
- Is US winning its war on terror?
-
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/americas/3091658.stm11/25/03 BBC: An assessment of gains and losses over the previous year in the war against terrorism.
- "Bush demands Mid-East democracy"
-
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/middle_east/3248119.stm11/6/03 BBC: President Bush's major speech on democracy and freedom in Iraq and the Middle East to the National Endowment for Democracy. "The establishment of a free Iraq at the heart of the Middle East will be a watershed event in the global democratic revolution." Full text of Bush's speech
- Pres. Bush's "Axis of Evil" speech
-
www.whitehouse.gov/news/releases/2002/01/20020129-11.html1/29/02 State of the Union address: U.S. had defeated the Taliban in Afghanistan and arrested many terrorists; announced that the next goal was to prevent regimes that sponsor terror from threatening America with weapons of mass destruction and named North Korea, Iran and Iraq as an "Axis of Evil."
- Pres. Bush's post Sept. 11 address to Joint Session of Congress
-
www.whitehouse.gov/news/releases/2001/09/20010920-8.html9/20/01 text of speech in which President Bush demanded that the Taliban in Afghanistan close terrorist bases and turn over Al-Qaeda members; promised to pursue "every terrorist group of global reach" and any nation that harbors them; announced global cooperation to stop terrorism; formed the Office of Homeland Security; and put U.S. military forces on alert.
