Research > Guides > Cooking > Searching for articles
Searching for Articles
Multnomah County Library maintains over 2,000 current periodical titles. The magazines and newspapers that are on display are only a sampling of what the library owns. Many periodicals are available in online databases through the computer.
Magazines
While each neighborhood library subscribes to one or two cooking magazines, most cooking magazines are found in the Periodicals Room on the second floor of Central Library. The Periodicals Room contains the past two to three years of most titles. Previous issues may be requested from the retrieval desk.
Cooking magazines available at Multnomah County Library
- Bon Appetit
- Chocolatier
- Cook's Illustrated
- Cooking Light
- Food & Wine
- Gourmet
- Herb Quarterly
- Nation's Restaurant News
- Northwest Palate
- Restaurant Business
- Saveur
- Taunton's Fine Cooking
- Wine Spectator
- Wines & Vines
Databases
If you want to find magazine articles on a particular topic, search in one of the many periodicals databases to which the library subscribes, such as EBSCOHost. Many of these databases are "full text," which means that they contain the entire text of the article from the magazine. They are updated frequently and contain current articles and recipes from thousands of magazines. If you have a library card, many of the library's databases are available to you on the Web from home, work or school.
Start by entering search terms in the text box labeled "Find." If you would like to limit your results to articles that are full text, click on the "Full Text" box. Click the SEARCH button to begin searching.
Database Tips
To search for multiple words, use the words and and or to combine search terms together.
For example, searching for buffets and cookery will find articles that contain both the words "buffets" and "cookery." Searching for food or culture will find articles that contain either the word "food" or the word "culture."
When you find an article you like, click on the "Subjects" line at the top of each article to find similar articles.
For directions, click on the "Online Help" button.
Truncation
To truncate a word, enter the root of a search term and replace the ending with an asterisk (*). For example, searching for cook* will find articles containing the words "cookbook," "cookery," "cookies," "cooking" or "cookware."
