skip navigation links

Research > Guides > Cooking > Exploring the Web

Exploring the Web

The Web can be a great place to find recipes. It is easy to find individual recipes either by searching for key ingredients or by browsing general categories.

Below is a small sampling of the many websites devoted to cooking:

Multnomah County Library Research
http://www.multcolib.org/ref
Multnomah County Library makes it easy for you to find useful, high-quality information using the Web. Our Electronic Resources collection provides a combination of carefully selected commercial databases and websites on a wide variety of subjects, such as cooking, business and news.
Epicurious Food
http://www.epicurious.com
Explore a searchable database of over 11,000 recipes, ingredient information, restaurant and cookbook reviews, along with a dictionary and information on how to serve and eat everything from artichokes to watermelon. Read online editions of Bon Appetit and Gourmet here, too.
Global Gourmet
www.globalgourmet.com
Browse international recipes and cooking traditions by country or region. Search for recipes by keyword.
Internet Chef
www.ichef.com
The IChef site has a searchable archive of almost 30,000 recipes. It includes a "Tips & Hints" section for repairing food and cleaning utensils and appliances.
Recipe Source
http://www.recipesource.com
Over 70,000 recipes are indexed and also searchable by keyword or by topics such as ethnic, main dishes, desserts and restricted and special diets. This site is powered by SOAR (Searchable Online Archive of Recipes).
USDA Nutrient Data Laboratory
www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/foodcomp/
Use this database to look up the nutritional content of over 6,000 foods.