Research > Guides > Music Copyright > Further reading
Further reading
Copyright laws and Congressional hearings:
- Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works
-
(Paris Text 1971) International agreement for copyright protection.
- Fair Use Guidelines - US Code
-
From the Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School.
- LII Copyright Information
-
Prepared by the Legal Information Institute of the Cornell Law School.
- No Electronic Theft Act
-
UC Berkeley.
- Sonny Bono Term Extension; Explanation of Law
-
National Music Publishers Association.
Copyright and music business guides:
- ASCAP Music Business Resource Guide
- Center For the Public Domain: Arts Project
-
Duke University studies about copyright law and the arts. The ARTS PROJECT analyzes the effects of intellectual property on cultural production, and is supported by a grant from the Rockefeller Foundation.
- The Church Musician and the Copyright Law
-
Use of copyrighted music materials; prepared by the Music Publishers Association.
- Copyright and the Choral Musician
-
Hinshaw Music Publishers guide to copyright laws.
- The Copyright Crash Course
-
Useful for school and academic perspectives.
- Copyright for Music Librarians
-
Sponsored by the Legislative Committee of the Music Library Association.
- Copyright Law for Music Educators
-
Guidelines for teachers; prepared by the Music Publishers Association.
- Copyright Registration Forms
-
For performing arts works: Library of Congress. U.S. Copyright Office.
- Copyright Resource Center
-
Prepared by the Music Publishers Association. Includes sample forms for requesting permission from publishers to copy or arrange music currently under copyright.
- The Digital Dilemma: Intellectual Property in the Information Age
-
(excerpt of book chapter) c. 2000 National Academy of Sciences, c. 2000.
- The Expiration of Copyright Protection: Survey and Analysis of U. S. Copyright Law for Identifying the Public Domain
-
Krews, Kenneth A., Professor, Indiana School of Law Indianapolis
- Free Expression Policy Project
-
From the Brennan Center for Justice at the NYU School of Law. Features the report Will Fair Use Survive? a study of copyright in terms of digital media.
-
How to choose the right copyright form.
- Music Copyright Infringement Online Archive
-
List of legally contested songs and instrumental music in the United States from 1845 forward, with court summaries.
- Music Publishing and You
-
The Music Publisher's Association of the United States.
- Tales from the Public Domain: Bound by Law
-
An online comic book about the delicate balance between intellectual property and the public domain, from the Duke University Center for the Study of the Public Domain.
- When Works Pass into the Public Domain
-
Cornell Institute for Digital Collections. Based upon the public domain chart by Lolly Gassaway, University of North Carolina
Databases to use with your Multnomah County Library card
Databases are internet-accessible versions of print reference works, purchased by the Multnomah County Library, that provide you with online access from home, school, or office. Login with the barcode from your card and pin number (by default the last four numbers of your phone).
- New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
-
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians is a one of the standard multi-volume reference works for music. Use the online version from anywhere with your Multnomah County Library card. In the search box, enter the term: Copyright. This section includes a history of copyright, plus international copyright regulations organized by country. The New Grove is a database limited to Multnomah County Library cardholders.
About the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians: Full text online equivalent for The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition and The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, with the full text of Jazz Grove II beginning August 2002. world, jazz, popular and 20th-century music. History of Western music and eras, Non-Western and Traditional Music, popular music, jazz, blues, ragtime, operetta; musical Instruments and makers; performance practice; musical forms, genres, theory, terms, acoustics, notation; music of countries; music printing and publishing; social issues as they relate to music. - The Music Index
-
Search the Music Index by subject to find articles in magazines. The result will be a list of articles in music magazines on your subject. If these do not match what you are looking for, try again, searching by other terms or concepts. When you have a list of articles that you would like to read, look up the title of the magazine in the Multnomah County Library catalog. The Periodical Section of Central Library is where most of the music magazines are shelved. If there are some articles you would like to read that are not available at Multnomah County Library, search the ORBIS/CASCADE Summit Catalog for Portland academic library holdings.
About the Music Index: Indexes more than 650 national and international music journals. Covers people in music, the history of music, forms and types of music, musical instruments from the earliest times to modern electronic instruments. In addition, book reviews, reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances are indexed. First performances and obituaries are noted.
Books in the Multnomah County Library:
Request delivery of books to a Branch Library that is most convenient, by placing holds with your Multnomah County Library card.
- Fishman, Stephen
-
346.0482 F537p 2004Berkeley, CA: Nolo.com, 2004
- Gordon, Steve
-
780.285 G665f 2005San Francisco, CA : Backbeat Books ; Berkeley, CA : Distributed to the book trade in the US by Publishers Group West, c2005
- Halloran, Mark
-
780.23 M987 2001
Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c2001
- Krasilovsky, M. William, and Sidney Shemel
-
Central Library Humanities South Reference Desk R-780.23 K91t 2000New York: Billboard Books, c2000
- Moser, David J.
-
Central Library: 780.23 M899m 2002Vallejo, CA: ProMusic Press, c2002
- Naggar, David
-
Central Library: 780.23 N147m 2001San Francisco, CA: DaJe Pub., c2001
- Peters, Brian Wesley
-
Music business 101 : for aspiring producers, writers, musicans, singers, and future record moguls780.23 P481m 2005Los Angeles, Calif. : Swerve Publishing, c2005.
- Rudsenske, J. Scott
-
Central Library only: 780.23 S592c 2001New York : Schirmer Trade Books, c2005
- Schulenberg, Richard
-
780.23 S386L 2005New York : Billboard Books, 2005
- Shirley, John
-
Central Library only: 781.49068 S558s 2005San Francisco : Backbeat Books ; Berkeley, CA : Distributed to the book trade in the US and Canada by Publishers Group West ; Milwaukee, WI : Distributed to the music trade in the US and Canada by Hal Leonard Publishing, c2005.
- Wixen, Randall D.
-
070.5794 W835p 2005Milwaukee, WI : H. Leonard, c2005.
Questions about music materials? Send your question to Ask Us!

