skip navigation links

Research > Guides > House History > Searching Maps

Searching Maps

Maps can reveal useful details about your real estate.

Websites & databases

Historic Resources
http://www.portlandonline.com/planning/index.cfm?c=45427
This collection of historic documents from the City of Portland's Planning Bureau includes a growing list of digital images of historic maps (scroll down to the bottom of the page to see them), including the General Land Office Cadastral (survey) maps of Portland from 1852, a 1894 map showing the methods of pavement in use through out the city, a 1955 aerial photo of the central city, and a 1943 streetcar map.
Digital Sanborn Maps: 1867-1970
www.multcolib.org/ref/maps.html
A database that contains digital versions of the Sanborn maps for Oregon, Washington, and California. This online collection is in black and white only, so the color coding denoting construction material does not show. It is available for use inside the library, and Multnomah County Library patrons can also use it outside the library, after entering their library card number.
PortlandMaps
www.portlandmaps.com
A Web-based database of property information for Portland and much of the surrounding area, including maps, tax information, crime data, school and park information and more. From the City of Portland.

Atlases

Humanities North Stack Call Desk (Central Library) O-912.795 M58
These atlases ascribe ownership to property and name real estate additions. They include lists of additions to the city. (The library also has Metsker atlases for Washington & Clackamas counties)
Humanities North Stack Call Desk (Central Library) O- 912.7951 P85
A two-volume book of maps of the city of Portland, circa 1907, showing ownership of residential property and other real estate information.
Humanities North Stack Call Desk (Central Library) O-912.795 S189 film
Compiled for insurance companies, these maps show the location and make-up of buildings in Portland, Gresham, and other Oregon cities, for various dates. (16 microfilm reels)
Humanities North Stack Call Desk (Central Library) O-912.795 S19ip
Updated to 1958, these maps consist of corrections pasted over the original, large-scale 1908 era paper maps. These maps may not be photocopied.

Maps

Maps Locked Case (Central Library) O-MAP 912.7951 E13 1851-90 no. 1-11
This collection of original and reproduction maps of early Portland show the shape of the city from its earliest beginnings on the western shore of the Willamette through the 1890s. Most don't provide information about individual houses, but their illustration of neighborhood and civic growth is helpful for researchers who want to understand changes in the city over time.
Wilson Room Failing Map Case (Central Library) O- 912.7954 P852
Plat maps show neighborhoods as they were laid out for development. Often they were published by developers eager to sell lots and/or houses, so most don't have details of individual houses, but they can often provide a sense of context for the early development of a particular neighborhood, and of course they give information about early ownership of land. Plat maps in the library's collection show Sellwood, Albina, Mount Tabor, Highland, Waverly, Holladay's Addition, Tabor Heights, and other sections of east Portland.