skip navigation links

Research > Guides > House History > Organizations & Agencies

Organizations and Agencies

Contact these organizations and agencies for further information and research.

Division of Assessment and Taxation, Multnomah County
http://www.co.multnomah.or.us/dbcs/assess_tax/research.shtml
Public Research Room, Suite 125
501 S.E. Hawthorne Blvd.
Portland, OR 97214
503.988.3326
Multnomah County's Assessment and Taxation office has both current and historical tax information. They will give current information over the phone; they also research the historical records for a fee. Historical research is done as staff has time, so the customer has no guarantee about turnaround time. Assessment and Taxation staff prefer that people do their own research. The Public Research Room includes records of sales, tax bills, and other types of public records about real property and realty records. If the information is only available on the computer system, Assessment & Taxation staff will do the research. Some records can be searched by name; other records are by address. Whenever possible, bring the current address(es) of the property being researched and the pre-1932 address for Portland buildings. More current records are available by personal name. The Public Research Room has some maps that may prove helpful. Current and historical tax and deed information for other Oregon counties can be researched at the appropriate county's assessment and taxation office.
See also the City of Portland's PortlandMaps database, which includes recent tax assessments and related information, and the Oregon Historical County Records Guide, below.
Oregon Historical County Records Guide, Oregon State Archives
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/county/cphome.html
A guide to the location and content of local government historical records in Oregon. Provides a brief history of each Oregon county, maps of counties and boundary changes, and information on how to access records.
Development Services Center, Bureau of Development Services, City of Portland
www.opdr.ci.portland.or.us/dsc/dsc_record.htm
1900 S.W. 4th Ave.
Portland, OR 97201
503.823.7300
To find out when a home or building was built in Portland, a phone call to this agency may answer the question. The Development Services Center has accurate information on houses and buildings built within the Portland City limits beginning about 1904.
Permit Customer Service Center, Development Services Department, City of Gresham
http://www.ci.gresham.or.us/departments/developmentServices/permits/
1333 N.W. Eastman Parkway
Gresham, OR 97030
503.618.2832
Permit Services is the agency responsible for building permits for the City of Gresham and unincorporated East Multnomah County. Permits issued from 1992-present can be searched in the department's historical permits database. The Community and Economic Development Department is also responsible for zoning issues.
Oregon Historical Society Library
http://www.ohs.org/research/library/
1200 S.W. Park Ave.
Portland, OR 97205
503.306.5240
Oregon Historical Society has many of the same resources available at Multnomah County Library. Of particular note is the library's archive of historic photographs. Call for hours.
Architectural Heritage Center, Bosco-Milligan Foundation
www.architecturalheritagecenter.org
701 S.E. Grand Ave.
Portland, OR 97214
503.231.7264
For help with style identification and advice about the original appearance of your home, send a photo of the exterior, along with your address and phone, to this regional historic preservation organization.
Heritage Programs Division, Oregon Parks & Recreation Department
www.shpo.state.or.us
725 Summer St. N.E., Suite C
Salem, OR 97301
503.986.0681
This office maintains a monthly open house listing for Oregon properties on the National Historic Register, including homes, listed by county. The website includes a compilation of laws relating to historic preservation and a listing of publications and services provided relating to preservation and rehab. Provides funding and support for statewide and local preservation projects.
Historic Preservation League of Oregon
www.hplo.org
3534 S.E. Main St.
Portland, OR 97214
503.243.1923
This website includes a section on how to research a building's history and lots of related information, such as a list of research resources, a "Rehab Oregon Right" workshop and a list of frequently asked questions