Research > Guides > Travel > websites
Using websites
The following pages list a few sites where a person might find airline, automobile, rail, accommodation and destination assistance and other useful travel information.
Additional links to a collection of travel websites recommended by library staff can be found on the Travel / Geography page in the Research section of the library's website.
Planes
- Expedia
-
www.expedia.comVacation planning, flight, and accommodation and car rental information are available from Microsoft's travel agency.
- Travelocity
-
www.travelocity.comTravelocity offers you the ability to book with over 400 airlines, 45,000 hotels and 50 car rental companies.
- Priceline
-
www.priceline.comPriceline searches for an airline willing to release tickets that meet your criteria.
Trains
- Rail Travel Information
-
www.iacr.bbsrc.ac.uk/ppi/links/glinks/Railway/Discover useful sources of information for travelers by rail; some provide timetables.
- Eurostar
-
www.eurostar.co.uk/index.htmlEurostar is the ultra-modern, high-speed passenger-only train that travels from London Waterloo International and Ashford International in Kent direct to Europe.
Automobiles
- National Scenic Byways Online
-
www.byways.orgSponsored by the National Highway Adminstration, National Scenic Byways Online allows the traveler to select routes by criteria that include archaeological, cultural, historic, natural, scenic and recreational.
- Road Trip USA
-
www.roadtripusa.comFollow driving tours and routes, and discover miles and miles of sights, local history, oddities and diners.
Lodging
- Bed and Breakfast Online: Canada's Complete Bed and Breakfast Web Server
-
www.bbcanada.comThis very thorough list, organized by province, includes pictures of the B&Bs, lists of amenities and more.
- Hostelling International
-
www.hiayh.org/home.shtmlFind information about hostels around the United States and in over 60 countries.
- Hotel Reservation Network
-
www.hoteldiscounts.comThis broker of hotel deals specializes in U.S. cities but includes some hotels in Canada and Europe, too.
- Smooth Hound: United Kingdom Hotels and Guest Houses
-
www.smoothhound.co.ukSmooth Hound offers more than 10,000 comprehensive listings for every sort of lodging from B&Bs to luxury hotels in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, with ratings, maps and details.
Handy Sites
This miscellaneous collection of websites includes sites that address specific audiences, as well as sites that offer information useful to many travelers.
- CDC Traveler
-
www.cdc.gov/travelThe Centers for Disease Control provides vaccination requirements, health information for destinations, outbreaks of disease, etc.
- Hot Springs Enthusiast
-
www.hotspringsenthusiast.comThis listing of U.S. and international hot springs is seachable, offering topo maps showing the springs and providing other articles and information on the subject.
- Journeywoman
-
www.journeywoman.comThis online travel magazine for women gives tips on travel and accommodations, safety advice, hiking articles, classified ads, love stories and more.
- Lonely Planet
-
www.lonelyplanet.comGet good information for independent travelers from the publisher of the travel guides.
- Musee
-
www.musee-online.orgSearch by name, by type of museum or by geography, and you are linked to the museums' Web pages.
- Rick Steves' Europe Through the Back Door
-
www.ricksteves.comRick Steves' ETBD is a commercial site that provides information to budget-minded travelers, as well as rail passes, tours and travel materials.
- Tourism Offices Worldwide
-
www.towd.comUse this online guide to connect to official tourist information sources nationally and worldwide.
- Walking and Hiking: The Trail Database
-
www.hejoly.demon.nl/#northamericaVisit what is described as the word's largest hiking database. Locate trails by continent and country, find maps, get health information and more.
